Book trailer & Title spotlight – “The Boy on the Bridge” by M.R. Carey

In the crowded zombie fiction landscape M.R. Carey’s “The Girl With All the Gifts” is a breath of fresh air. M.R. Carey’s novel is tackling the common zombie apocalypse theme, but it does so in an original, intelligent and gripping manner, one that made me fall in love with “The Girl With All the Gifts”. Starting from yesterday in the USA and tomorrow in the UK “The Boy on the Bridge” is available, a sequel or prequel of sorts, depending on our own point of view. Or to be more exact we can refer to M.R. Carey’s article on B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy blog where he talks about his latest novel: “I just wrote a novel, The Boy On the Bridge, that’s very much in the same continuity as another novel that I wrote. It’s set 10 years before that other novel, The Girl With All the Gifts, but it’s not a prequel. Not really. For one thing it’s not about the same people. It’s a new story with a new cast, but in the same world and against the same wider backdrop.” (You can read the entire article here).

To celebrate the release of “The Boy on the Bridge” here is a trailer for the novel and the synopsis of it. True, both don’t reveal too much, but it is enough for M.R. Carey’s new novel to become even more intriguing than it already was for me.

The Boy on the Bridge

Once upon a time, in a land blighted by terror, there was a very clever boy.

The people thought the boy could save them, so they opened their gates and sent him out into the world.

To where the monsters lived.

Title spotlight – “Amatka” by Karin Tidbeck

Amatka

Back in 2012 Karin Tidbeck made her English debut with the short story collection, “Jagganath”, published by Cheeky Frawg Books. Spinning Scandinavian folklore and mythology, spanning over a plentitude of speculative fiction sub-genres, but leaning more towards weird fiction, “Jagganath” received its share of recognition, the collection won the Crawford Award, was nominated for the World Fantasy Award and appeared on the honor list of the Tiptree Award, while one of the stories, “Augusta Prima”, won the Science Fiction and Fantasy Translation Award. Since then Karin Tidbeck’s fiction has appeared on venues such as Tor.com, Shadows & Tall Trees, Uncanny Magazine or Lightspeed Magazine and in anthologies such as “The Starlit Wood”, “Fearsome Magics” or “The Starry Wisdom Library”, but this year sees the publication of Karin Tidbeck’s debut novel, “Amatka”. The English version of “Amatka”, originally published in Swedish in 2012, is due to be released on June 27th by Vintage Books and considering the already mentioned short story collection and the synopsis of the novel I am very curious to see what “Amatka” holds in store. I mean, a wintry location always fascinates me (I love winter, although I am not sure I would like it so much if I lived in a place where this season rules most of the year) and a story involving language, which apparently can’t be taken for granted here, artistic creation, an investigation and what looks like a totalitarian regime are elements that intrigue me greatly.

A surreal debut novel set in a world shaped by language in the tradition of Margaret Atwood and Ursula K. Le Guin. 

Vanja, an information assistant, is sent from her home city of Essre to the austere, wintry colony of Amatka with an assignment to collect intelligence for the government. Immediately she feels that something strange is going on: people act oddly in Amatka, and citizens are monitored for signs of subversion.

Intending to stay just a short while, Vanja falls in love with her housemate, Nina, and prolongs her visit. But when she stumbles on evidence of a growing threat to the colony, and a cover-up by its administration, she embarks on an investigation that puts her at tremendous risk.

In Karin Tidbeck’s world, everyone is suspect, no one is safe, and nothing—not even language, nor the very fabric of reality—can be taken for granted. Amatka is a beguiling and wholly original novel about freedom, love, and artistic creation by a captivating new voice.